The Gary Chamberlain Online Seminar in Econometrics

A regular open online international inter-institutional econometrics seminar in honor of Gary Chamberlain (1948–2020).
You can find Gary Chamberlain's doctoral dissertation here, as well as a set of lecture notes here for a graduate econometrics class taught at Harvard in 2010, courtesy of Paul Goldsmith-Pinkham. Here is a link to a paper by Gary recently published in the Journal of Econometrics.

Mailing List

To stay up to date about upcoming presentations please join our mailing list!

Upcoming Seminar Presentations

  • Friday, October 22, noon ET / 5pm London: Dmitry Arkhangelsky (CEMFI)
    On Policy Evaluation with Aggregate Time-Series Shocks (with Vasily Korovkin, paper)
    Click here to sign up for the seminar and receive a Zoom link to join on Friday.

  • Friday, November 5, noon ET / 4pm London : Rachael Meager (LSE) -- NOTE EARLIER START TIME IN EUROPE DUE TO END OF DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME
    An Automatic Finite-Sample Robustness Metric: When Can Dropping A Little Data Change Conclusions? (with Ryan Giordano and Tamara Broderick, paper)

  • Friday, November 19

  • Friday, December 3: Francesca Molinari (Cornell)
    Information based inference with set-valued predictions or observations (with Hiroaki Kaido)

  • Tutorial on (Auto) DML based on Riesz Representers
    by Victor Chernozhukov (MIT)

All seminars are Fridays at noon ET (5pm London / 11am CT / 9am PT).

Seminar Calendar

Format and Rules

The seminars are held on Zoom and last 90 minutes:

  • 60 minutes of presentation

  • 15 minutes total of comments and questions by two or three designated discussants

  • 15 minutes of audience comments and questions

A moderator collects audience questions in chat. Please stay muted until called by the moderator.

Seminars will be recorded and available on the webpage a few days after. Please note that you may be recorded if you activate your video or speak during the seminar.

This is an experiment and you are part of the treatment group – all these details are subject to change.

Contact

If you want to get in touch, have feedback or suggestions, want to propose a speaker or volunteer as a discussant, please e-mail us at chamberlainseminar@gmail.com or fill out the feedback form. If you are hosting your own seminar, we would like to hear from you, list your seminar, and we invite you to share your best practices and sign up for the "online seminar organizers" e-mail list.

Organizers

Alberto Abadie (MIT), Isaiah Andrews (Harvard), Stéphane Bonhomme (Chicago), Xiaohong Chen (Yale), Guido Imbens (Stanford), Michal Kolesár (Princeton), Anna Mikusheva (MIT), Michael Pollmann (Stanford), Jann Spiess (Stanford), Martin Weidner (Oxford)