The Gary Chamberlain Online Seminar in Econometrics

A regular open online international inter-institutional econometrics seminar in honor of Gary Chamberlain (1948–2020)

Mailing List

To stay up to date about upcoming presentations please join our mailing list!

Upcoming Seminar Presentations

  • Friday, September 18, noon ET / 5pm London
    Max Farrell (Chicago Booth): Deep Neural Networks for Estimation and Inference (with Tengyuan Liang, Sanjog Misra)
    Discussants: Tim Armstrong, Yinchu Zhu
    Click here to register and receive the Zoom link.
    Link to paper

  • Friday, October 2, noon ET / 5pm London
    Xu Cheng (Penn): Robust Model Evaluation with Applications to Asset Pricing Models (with Winston W. Dou and Zhipeng Liao)
    Discussant: Anna Mikusheva
    Zoom registration link coming a few days before the seminar. Join our mailing list above to receive a notification.
    Link to paper

  • Friday, October 16, noon ET / 5pm London

  • Friday, October 30, noon ET / 4pm London (note different start time due to earlier end of daylight savings time Europe)
    Raffaella Giacomini (UCL): Identification and Inference under Narrative Restrictions (with Toru Kitagawa and Matthew Read)
    Discussant: José Luis Montiel Olea
    Zoom registration link coming a few days before the seminar. Join our mailing list above to receive a notification.

  • Friday, November 13, noon ET / 5pm London
    Jiaying Gu (Toronto)
    Zoom registration link coming a few days before the seminar. Join our mailing list above to receive a notification.

All seminars are Fridays at noon ET (5pm London / 11am CT / 9am PT). We hope to hold seminars at different times in the future to accommodate other time zones.

Seminar Calendar

Format and Rules

The seminars are held on Zoom and last 90 minutes:

  • 60 minutes of presentation

  • 15 minutes total of comments and questions by two or three designated discussants

  • 15 minutes of audience comments and questions

A moderator collects audience questions in chat. Please stay muted until called by the moderator.

Seminars will be recorded and available on the webpage a few days after. Please note that you may be recorded if you activate your video or speak during the seminar.

This is an experiment and you are part of the treatment group – all these details are subject to change.

Contact

If you want to get in touch, have feedback or suggestions, want to propose a speaker or volunteer as a discussant, please e-mail us at chamberlainseminar@gmail.com or fill out the feedback form. If you are hosting your own seminar, we would like to hear from you, list your seminar, and we invite you to share your best practices and sign up for the "online seminar organizers" e-mail list.

Organizers

Alberto Abadie (MIT), Isaiah Andrews (Harvard), Stéphane Bonhomme (Chicago), Xiaohong Chen (Yale), Guido Imbens (Stanford), Michal Kolesár (Princeton), Anna Mikusheva (MIT), Jann Spiess (Stanford), Martin Weidner (UCL)